NPR logo Senate Confirms Kagan To Court 63-37

Senate Confirms Kagan To Court 63-37

The Senate has confirmed Solicitor General Elena Kagan to the Supreme Court by a vote of 63-37.

She replaces John Paul Stevens, who retired.

Five Republicans voted to confirm her:  Judd Gregg (N.H.), Olympia Snowe (Me.), Susan Collins (Me.), Dick Lugar (Ind.) and Lindsey Graham (S.C.)

One Democrat voted no:  Ben Nelson of Nebraska.

Nelson is the first Democratic senator to vote against a Democratic president's Supreme Court nominee since 1967, when ten Democrats voted against President Lyndon Johnson's nominee of Thurgood Marshall.