Senate Confirms Kagan To Court 63-37

The Senate has confirmed Solicitor General Elena Kagan to the Supreme Court by a vote of 63-37.

She replaces John Paul Stevens, who retired.

Five Republicans voted to confirm her:  Judd Gregg (N.H.), Olympia Snowe (Me.), Susan Collins (Me.), Dick Lugar (Ind.) and Lindsey Graham (S.C.)

One Democrat voted no:  Ben Nelson of Nebraska.

Nelson is the first Democratic senator to vote against a Democratic president's Supreme Court nominee since 1967, when ten Democrats voted against President Lyndon Johnson's nominee of Thurgood Marshall.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and terms of use, and will be moderated prior to posting. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from