NPR logo FDA Expands Nationwide Egg Recall


FDA Expands Nationwide Egg Recall

The Food and Drug Administration on Wednesday dramatically expanded the recall of eggs linked to a nationwide salmonella outbreak to 380 million eggs.

Investigation by the FDA and state health officials have linked the contaminated eggs to an Midwestern firm called Wright County Egg in Iowa.

An FDA news release provides more details, including the names of the retailers and packaging on the eggs.

On August 13, 2010, Wright County Egg of Galt, Iowa, conducted a nationwide voluntary recall of shell eggs that it had shipped since May 19, 2010 to food wholesalers, distribution centers and foodservice companies in California, Illinois, Missouri, Colorado, Nebraska, Minnesota, Wisconsin and Iowa. These companies distribute nationwide.

The recalled shell eggs are packaged under the following brand names: Lucerne, Albertson, Mountain Dairy, Ralph’s, Boomsma’s, Sunshine, Hillandale, Trafficanda, Farm Fresh, Shoreland, Lund, Dutch Farms and Kemps.

State and local partners are also investigating human Salmonella infections in Arizona, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, North Carolina, Nevada, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Texas.