Sense Of Place

Electric Six On World Cafe

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">
Electric Six.

Electric Six. Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of the artist

Set List

  • "Show Me What Your Lights Mean"
  • "Steal Your Bones"
  • "Down At McDonnellzzz"
  • "Synthesizer"

World Cafe's Sense of Place visit to Detroit continues this Thursday with a session from the Electric Six, a venerable sextet with a sound that manages to encompass elements of garage, disco, punk rock, new wave and metal.

Formed in 1996, the group has released nine albums, including its latest record, Mustang. The band has changed its lineup a few times over the years, but the energy has remained the same. Led by singer Dick Valentine, the current lineup consists of Da Ve and Johnny Na$hinal, guitars; Smorgasbord, bass; keyboardist Tait Nucleus? and Percussion World.

Hear the group perform an energetic four-song set, including "Show Me What Your Lights Mean" from Mustang.

World Cafe Playlist for October 24, 2013



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor