World Cafe Next

World Cafe Next: SACCO


  • Playlist
  • Download
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

SACCO. Courtesy of the artist hide caption

itoggle caption Courtesy of the artist


Courtesy of the artist


  • "Carnival Ghost"
  • "Kerosene"

This week's World Cafe: Next entry is a San Diego psych-rock band started by friends Andy Breihan and John Fredericks. After relocating to Brooklyn, the pair and drummer Chris Tromley recorded their debut within sight of the ocean on Long Island, just to maintain the surf-friendly San Diego vibe.

As for the name SACCO, that's a shout-out to the famous Italian anarchists Sacco and Vanzetti, who were executed in 1927. Hear and download two of the band's songs as part of the World Cafe: Next podcast.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.