A host of new gluten-free products have hit store shelves in recent years, as more people eschew foods containing the protein.
January 14, 2015 Many people who don't have celiac disease have ditched gluten, thinking it will improve their health. That's created more dining options — and more derision — for those with the autoimmune disorder.
An FDA rule effective Aug. 5 states that foods may be labeled "gluten free" only if there's less than 20 parts per million of the protein.
August 6, 2014 The Food and Drug Administration now requires all food manufacturers to be in compliance with a labeling standard for gluten-free food. Advocates for people with celiac disease say it's about time.
<iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/338306544/338354942" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">
The wheat and grains in many breads contain gluten.
May 22, 2014 Many people who don't have celiac disease say they feel better on a gluten-free diet. But scientists say some gut troubles may come from eating fructans and other FODMAP carbs rather than gluten.
About 40 years ago wheat breeders introduced new varieties of wheat that helped farmers increase their grain yields. But scientists say those varieties aren't linked to the rise in celiac disease.
Karen Bleier/AFP/Getty Images
September 26, 2013 Doctors have other ways to explain why wheat makes some people sick, like the hygiene hypothesis.
<iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/226510988/226493786" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">
The Food and Drug Administration is at last defining what a "gluten free" label on a food package really means after nine years of consideration.
Jon Elswick/AP photo
August 2, 2013 The FDA's new rule says gluten-free food can't contain more than 20 parts per million of gluten. Most products on the market with the label already meet that standard.
Michele Kelly, owner of Pure Knead bakery in Decatur, Ga., is one of many businesspeople catering to soaring demand for gluten-free baked goods.
March 9, 2013 Almost one-third of Americans say they're trying to avoid eating gluten, according to a new survey. This despite the fact that only a small fraction of those people have celiac disease.
More and more gluten-free beers are entering the marketplace. We asked a librarian with celiac disease for her list of favorites.
February 1, 2013 Malted wheat and barley add flavor and heft to most beers, but they also contain gluten, making beer off limits for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. For those looking for gluten-free options for Super Bowl Sunday and beyond, good news: There are more choices than ever before for flavorful, full-bodied gluten-free beer.
This matzo ball soup may be kosher, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's better for you.
June 21, 2012 Customers think "kosher" and "gluten-free" mean healthier, and food marketers are seizing on that.
NPR thanks our sponsors
Become an NPR sponsor