The Brighton Port Authority: Fatboy Slim Returns

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

The BPA Featuring Iggy Pop, "He's Frank"

The BPA Featuring Emmy The Great, "Seattle"

The BPA Featuring David Byrne & Dizzee Rascal, "Toe Jam"

BPA (300)

The Brighton Port Authority. Courtesy of Artist hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of Artist

The Brighton Port Authority, built around a word-of-mouth following, is a collaborative musical project created by Simon Thornton and Norman Cook (a.k.a. DJ Fatboy Slim). Its debut album as a collective, I Think We're Gonna Need a Bigger Boat, features a series of popular artists, such as Iggy Pop, Martha Wainwright, Dizzee Rascal and David Byrne. While each artist contributes a bit of his or her own style, the overall '70s house approach ties the entire album together in what the group describes as a "warehouse party, testing synthesizers, shooting fireworks across the bay."

In an interview with host David Dye, Cook describes how these tapes, recorded in the early 1970s to mid-'90s, were lost for years and recently found in a Brighton dockside warehouse.

Related NPR Stories

Purchase Featured Music

I Think We're Gonna Need a Bigger Boat

Purchase Music

Purchase Featured Music

I Think We're Gonna Need a Bigger Boat
Brighton Port Authority
Southern Fried

Your purchase helps support NPR Programming. How?




Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from