Shelby Lynne On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Set List

  • "I Only Want to Be with You"
  • "Breakfast in Bed"
  • "Johnny Met June"
  • "I'm Alive"
  • "Pretend"
  • "Jesus on a Greyhound"

Originally from Alabama, Shelby Lynne has carved out a diverse recording career, ranging from pure country to Texas Swing to a harder-edged alt-rock sound.

shelbylynne i

Shelby Lynne. Brian Blausner hide caption

itoggle caption Brian Blausner

Shelby Lynne.

Brian Blausner

Lynne's latest record, Just a Little Lovin', pays tribute to the legendary singer Dusty Springfield. Lynne got the idea for a record of Springfield songs from Barry Manilow, though several years passed before the project came together. The music was recorded on analog equipment, with legendary producer Phil Ramone at the helm.

Lynne opens this Mountain Stage performance, recorded in November, with two Springfield classics. Her lone original songwriting contribution to the album, "Pretend," channels a Springfield-esque melody, sung with an emotional, hushed inflection. She also includes "Johnny Met June" (from her 2005 release Suit Yourself), "I'm Alive" (from 2003's Identity Crisis) and "Jesus on a Greyhound" (a song co-written with producer Glen Ballard from Love, Shelby).

Lynne is joined here by John Jackson on guitars and harp, Rick Reed on drums and Brian Harrison on bass.

This feature originally ran Mar. 30, 2009.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.