Korean Presidents Freed

— NPR's Julie McCarthy reports that South Korea's outgoing president Kim Young Sam has freed two former South Korean presidents from prison. Chun Doo Hwan and Roh Tae Woo were imprisoned for taking part in a 1979 coup and for violently quashing a pro-democracy movement. President-elect Kim Dae Jung agreed to free the two men in an effort to unify the country.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and terms of use, and will be moderated prior to posting. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.