Pat McGee On Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "Remedy"
  • "I Don't Think I'm Listening"
  • "Come Back Home"
  • "Maybe it's Time"
  • "Haven't Seen for a While"
  • "Rebecca"
Pat McGee Performs

After fifteen years heading a band, Pat McGee has struck out on his own. Brian Blauser hide caption

itoggle caption Brian Blauser

Originally from Charlottesville, Va., and now living in Rhode Island, singer-songwriter Pat McGee provides a glimpse at his newly launched solo effort in this Mountain Stage performance. After fronting the Pat McGee Band for 15 years, McGee released his first solo recording, inspired in part by the sudden death of his long-time drummer Chris Williams.

His recent losses — also including the death of his fan-club president — and his growing family are prevalent themes on the new album, These Days (The Virginia Sessions). Through creative editing, drummer Williams appears on some of the album's tracks. These Days was recorded in various studios, bedrooms, hotels, bathrooms and basements around Virginia, Maryland, Ohio and Rhode Island.

McGee performs with the Mountain Stage Band, with Ron Sowell on acoustic guitar, Julie Adams on backing vocals, Michael Lipton on electric guitar, Ammed Solomon on drums and Steve Hill on bass.

Related NPR Stories



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.