Kasey Chambers And Shane Nicholson On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/113798716/113753669" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "Rattlin' Bones"
  • "Once in a While"
  • "Your Day Will Come"
  • "One More Year"
  • "Woe Is Mine"

Representing the far-reaching influence of American country music, Australian singer-songwriters Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson perform songs from their first release as a duo, Rattlin' Bones.

Chambers grew up with the country music her father played for her, and grew to be a star in her homeland of Australia with roots-oriented albums such as The Captain, her commercial breakthrough. It was in her father's group The Dead Ringer Band that Chambers began her singing career before stepping out on her own; her father Bill joins the duo in this performance on mandolin and dobro.

With her subsequent records enjoying platinum sales and prompting a U.S. tour with Lucinda Williams, Chambers later married Shane Nicholson of the group Pretty Violet Stain. With Rattlin' Bones, the duo has made its first record together, a sparse and acoustic set showcasing Chambers and Nicholson's rich harmonies and sharp songwriting.

This segment originally aired on October 14, 2009.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from