Nellie McKay On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Watch The Interview From Backstage At Mountain Stage

Set List

  • "If I Ever Had a Dream"
  • "Wonderful Guy"
  • "Meditation"
  • "Sentimental Journey"
  • "Black Hills of Dakota"
  • "Mean to Me"
  • "Crazy Rhythm"

New York-based singer, songwriter, pianist and ukulele player Nellie McKay has made a name for herself as an uncompromising artist with a remarkably ambitious vision. She burst on the music scene with a double album of original material in 2003 that drew comparisons to everyone from Eminem to Doris Day.

McKay's subsequent output has continued to progress, from the jazzy arrangements of Pretty Little Head to the fun, playful tunes of Obligatory Villagers. McKay will release a new album, Home Sweet Mobile Home, on Sept. 28.

This appearance marks her fourth performance on Mountain Stage since 2004. Accompanied by the Mountain Stage Band, McKay performs a set of Day favorites, as well as the original song "If I Ever Had a Dream," a tune McKay wrote when she was still a teenager and pulled out for her tribute to Day, Normal As Blueberry Pie.

The Mountain Stage Band includes director Ron Sowell, drummer Ammed Solomon, bassist Ryan Kennedy, electric guitarist Michael Lipton, vocalists Julie Adams and Laurel Dennie, and saxophonist Doug Payne on horns and Electric Wind Instrument. Pianist Bob Thompson joins in on "Crazy Rhythm."

This is a repeat performance of Mountain Stage.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.