Gretchen Parlato In Concert: Newport Jazz Festival 2010


Gretchen Parlato i i
Erik Jacobs for NPR
Gretchen Parlato
Erik Jacobs for NPR

Set List

  • "Within Me"
  • "Butterfly"
  • "Juju"
  • "Doralice"
  • "Weak"
  • "On The Other Side"
  • "Ugly Beauty"
  • "I Can't Help It"

It's not her light and feathery voice so much as how she uses it: phrased creatively, on pitch, in ways that request and reward closer attention. It's to her credit that hip young New York musicians are happy to play with Parlato — she's as much a musician as they are. One such grouping appears here at the CareFusion Newport Jazz Festival in Newport, R.I.

Personnel: Gretchen Parlato, vocals; Gerald Clayton, piano/Fender Rhodes; Alan Hampton, bass; Kendrick Scott, drums.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.