NPR logo

Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

  • Download
  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/1394592/1394593" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">
Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

  • Download
  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/1394592/1394593" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

NPR's Karen Grigsby Bates takes to the streets of Los Angeles with mystery writer Paula Woods. Woods is one of a new crop of black authors who are using the tensions in multi-ethnic Los Angeles as inspiration for noir mysteries in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Ross McDonald.

We no longer support commenting on NPR.org stories, but you can find us every day on Facebook, Twitter, email, and many other platforms. Learn more or contact us.