NPR logo

Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

  • Download
  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/1394592/1394593" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">
Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

Rabid Reader: Los Angeles Noir Fiction

  • Download
  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/1394592/1394593" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

NPR's Karen Grigsby Bates takes to the streets of Los Angeles with mystery writer Paula Woods. Woods is one of a new crop of black authors who are using the tensions in multi-ethnic Los Angeles as inspiration for noir mysteries in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Ross McDonald.