USDA Expands Meat Recall to 8 States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture expands a beef recall to a total of eight states and the territory of Guam after the confirmation of a case of mad cow disease. The newly added states include Alaska, Montana, Hawaii and Idaho. Beef recalls on slightly more than 10,000 pounds of beef have already begun in Washington state, Oregon, California and Nevada. NPR's Ari Shapiro reports.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and terms of use, and will be moderated prior to posting. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.