History of Western Music Series, Part Five

Audio for this story from Performance Today is not available.

All week we've been talking with musicologist Richard Taruskin, who wrote The Oxford History of Western Music, published by Oxford University Press. We wrap up the conversation today by talking about the future. Where is classical music going? Then we hear the Kronos Quartet playing the third movement of a piece called "Different Trains," by Steve Reich.

Related NPR Stories



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and terms of use, and will be moderated prior to posting. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from