Coldplay's Continuing Evolution


Set List

Songs Coldplay performs for 'World Cafe':

  • "Warning Sign"
  • "Swallowed in the Sea"
  • "Til Kingdom Come"
  • "A Message"

Chris Martin and his band Coldplay have found success again with the bandÂ’s latest album, X&Y.


Coldplay Kevin Westenberg hide caption

itoggle caption Kevin Westenberg

The record is being hailed as a very worthy follow-up to 2002's masterful A Rush Of Blood To The Head. X&Y includes Coldplay's majestic first single from the album, "Speed of Sound."

The album is the result of 18 months of work for the group — Guy Berryman, bass; Jonny Buckland, guitar; Will Champion drummer; and frontman Chris Martin. In the process, they sought to evolve their sound, adding layers of texture to songs about love and life.

This story originally aired on Oct. 7, 2005.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.