Death Cab for Cutie Stay Clever on 'Plans'


Set List

Songs Death Cab for Cutie plays for 'World Cafe':

  • "Soul Meets Body"
  • "Crooked Teeth"
  • "Title and Registration"
  • "Sick of Myself"

The Bellingham, Wash., quartet Death Cab For Cutie are poised to make the leap from indie-rock buzz band to a wider audience. They've just released their fifth album, Plans, to critical and popular acclaim.

Death Cab for Cutie

Death Cab for Cutie: bassist Nick Harmer; singer Ben Gibbard; drummer Jason McGerr; and Chris Walla (guitar/keyboards). hide caption

itoggle caption

That acclaim was entirely necessary, if only to keep Plans from representing a drop-off from the group's Transatlanticism, which became a phenomenon in 2004 — and put the group's name in the mouths of characters on TV's The OC, among other places.

The new album has hints of a new maturity, brought on either by the group's age (singer Ben Gibbard is now approaching 30) or perhaps by the stability from retaining drummer Jason McGerr, who played on Transatlanticism.

And despite the group's label change — Plans is out on Atlantic; the band had previously been on Seattle's Barsuk Records — two things remain the same: Gibbard still writes clever, catchy songs; and guitarist Chris Walla lends just the write tone in his production work.

This feature originally aired on Oct. 21, 2005.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.