Kottke and Gordon: Calypso-Brushed Guitars


  • Playlist
  • Download
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/5019563/5019572" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">
  • Playlist
  • Download
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="http://www.npr.org/player/embed/5019563/5049535" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Set List

Songs Kottke and Gordon play for 'World Cafe':

  • "Living in the Country"
  • "Sweet Emotion"
  • "Twist"
  • "Last Steam Engine Train"

Former Phish bassist Mike Gordon and guitarist extraordinaire Leo Kottke reunite for a new album. The two have just released their second album together, Sixty Six Steps. The collection of songs embraces sweet calypso and island rhythms.

Mike Gordon and Leo Kottke infused their new project with the calypso vibe.

Mike Gordon and Leo Kottke infused their new project with the calypso vibe they soaked up in the Caribbean. hide caption

itoggle caption

For the record, Gordon and Kottke headed to the Caribbean to soak up the calypso sound that they use to interpret songs as varied as Aerosmith's "Sweet Emotion" and Fleetwood Mac's "Oh Well."

Rounding out Sixty Six Steps are original compositions by Gordon and Kottke, along with "Ya Mar," a favorite of many a Phish fan originally written by Bahaman singer Cyril Ferguson.

This interview originally aired on Nov. 24, 2005.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the NPR.org Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.