Details of Speech: 'Bobby Fischer'


Details of Speech's latest self titled album hide caption

itoggle caption

The indie-pop group, Details of Speech call Provo, UT. home but have lived throughout the U.S. Their upbeat and poppy, post-rock songs were written at a time when the members returned to music after various absences and missionary travels. After several name changes, the band settled on Details of Speech, "since it was the only name that no one hated."


Details of Speech performing live. hide caption

itoggle caption

The members of Details of Speech are: vocalist and guitarist Tim Koide, guitarist Aaron Monson, bassist Nathan Housley, drummer Eric Robertson and Chad Hokama on drum machine and keyboards.

Inspired by the likes of Mogwai, Radiohead and Sigur Ros, the members draw upon their varied experiences of traveling and working various odd jobs. With a final lineup in place, Details of Speech recorded their self-titled release featuring the song "Bobby Fischer." Their first full-length record, Friend, Always Miss You, is set for release in early 2006.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.