Black Rebel Motorcycle Club's Frisco 'Howl'


  • Playlist
  • Download
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Set List

Songs Black Rebel Motorcycle Club plays for 'World Cafe':

  • "Weight of the World"
  • "Complicated Situation"
  • "Devil's Waitin'"
  • "Fault Line"
Peter Hayes, Robert Turner and drummer Nick Jago

Robert Turner, left, Nick Jago and Peter Hayes. hide caption

itoggle caption

Black Rebel Motorcycle Club's new album, Howl, unveils a new blues, country and gospel-inspired sound. The mostly acoustic songs on the record, tinged with Americana, are an intriguing departure from the California band's trademark dirty rock sound.

With Howl, the three-piece — Peter Hayes, Robert Turner and drummer Nick Jago — are making a fresh start on RCA's Echo label, after things devolved on Virgin, which released their debut, B.R.M.C. (2001), and Take Them On, On Your Own (2003).

The progression of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club — whose sound has been cited over the years as resembling bands from Jesus and Mary Chain to the Stooges and My Bloody Valentine — has also coincided with the group's relocation from Los Angeles back to its home of San Francisco.

As the band has asserted, Howl, is, after all, an homage to legendary 'Frisco beat poet Allen Ginsberg, who wrote a book of poetry by the same name. It was in San Francisco that Hayes and Turner first channeled their influences into their own music. And that's where the band went to come up with a new approach to music.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.