New Pornographers' Busy Indie-Rock Coalition


Set List

  • "Use It"
  • "Twin Cinema"
  • "The Bleeding Heart Show"
  • "Sing Me Spanish Techno"

Hailing from Vancouver, Canada, the New Pornographers are a sort of indie-rock supergroup with a dizzying number of members, most of whom are active in other music groups or solo careers.

New Pornographers

Primary songwriter A.C. Newman performed in the Canadian band Zumpano and his solo release The Slow Wonder was released by Matador Records. Guitarist Dan Bejar and vocalist Neko Case have their own efforts as well.

Still, the New Pornographers haven't been too distracted to keep putting out material. The group has released three albums of material in two years, the most recent being last year's Twin Cinema. In an interview, Newman talks about the "supergroup" label, trying to change their sound for their third album and writing the nonsense chorus to the song "The Bleeding Heart Show."

Purchase Featured Music

Twin Cinema

Purchase Music

Purchase Featured Music

Twin Cinema
New Pornographers

Your purchase helps support NPR Programming. How?




Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.