Phoenix in Concert


  • Playlist
  • Embed
    Embed <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">

Phoenix. hide caption

itoggle caption

Band Members

  • Thomas Mars: vocals
  • Deck D'Arcy: bass
  • Laurent Brancowitz: guitar
  • Christian Mazzalai: guitar

Set List

  • "Napoleon Says"
  • "Long Distance Call"
  • "Consolation Prizes"
  • "Run. Run. Run."
  • "Too Young"
  • "Rally"
  • "If I Ever Feel Better"
  • "Sometimes in the Fall"

The four-man Parisian pop band Phoenix mixes '80s rock influences, '70s disco grooves and an appealing French accent to create likeable, danceable songs. The group performed live from WXPN and World Cafe Live in Philadelphia.

The group, whose four members started out playing Hank Williams and Prince covers to drunk barflies before landing a slot as a backing band for the French electronica duo Air, just released its third album, the immensely appealing It's Never Been Like That. The self-produced disc shows the band straying slightly from its past fussy perfectionism in favor of a comparatively raw, emotional sound.

Purchase Featured Music

It's Never Been Like That

Purchase Music

Purchase Featured Music

It's Never Been Like That

Your purchase helps support NPR Programming. How?




Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.