The Team Behind 'Little Miss Sunshine'

Directors Valerie Faris and Jonathan Dayton, and writer Michael Arndt. Little Miss Sunshine, their bittersweet film about a dysfunctional family, has been nominated for four Academy Awards. This was Faris and Dayton's feature film debut after directing hundreds of music videos, and also the first screenplay of Arndt's to be produced.

After the small independent film premiered at Sundance last year, film distribution companies went into a bidding war. The film fetched $10.5 million, the highest price ever at Sundance. Little Miss Sunshine stars Greg Kinnear, Toni Collette, Alan Arkin, Steve Carell and Abigail Breslin.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.