NPR logo Profile: Majority Action

Profile: Majority Action

Majority Action logo
Majority Action Web site

Founded in 2005, Majority Action ran ads against Republicans in the 2006 cycle and focused on helping Democrats take control of the U.S. House of Representatives.

In the 2008 cycle, the 527 organization will concentrate on Senate races.

Formerly, its "leadership circle" included former Democratic National Committee chairs Joe Andrew and Don Fowler and former Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee chair Tony Coelho. It also included America Votes President Martin Frost, Anna Burger, the secretary-treasurer of SEIU, and Craig Smith, former White House political director to President Clinton.

Funders: In 2008, SEIU and an SEIU local ($350,000); United Food and Commercial Workers Union ($100,000). In 2006, donations included SEIU ($300,000); George Soros ($170,000); American Federation of Teachers ($100,000); Linda Pritzker ($100,000); John Hunting ($100,000); and Adam Rose ($500,000).

Leadership: Mark Longabaugh, Bill Buck, Meghan Gaffney, Judith Zamore. Read more about these leaders in The Secret Money Project's Who's Who Directory of Key Leaders of Independent Groups.

Will Evans is a reporter for the Center for Investigative Reporting, NPR's partner in the Secret Money Project.