Regina Spektor On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">


  • "Ain't No Cover"
  • "On the Radio"
  • "Man of 1,000 Faces"
  • "Better"
  • "Ghost of Corporate Future"
  • "Fidelity"
  • "Summer in the City"
  • "Real Love"
  • "Samson"
Regina Spektor 300

Russian-born Regina Spektor and her family moved to the U.S. when she was 9 years old. Brian Blauser hide caption

toggle caption Brian Blauser

In the early 2000s, Russian-born Regina Spektor was making music in tucked-away clubs on New York's Lower East Side. By 2003, she'd landed a record deal with Sire, and her self-released album Soviet Kitsch was reissued by the label.

Spektor's tantalizing piano playing and her quirky character pieces helped land her widespread exposure, particularly after the 2006 release of Begin to Hope. Buoyed by the hit song "Fidelity," the album was critically acclaimed, and helped cement Spektor's place as a pop-music phenomenon.

In the midst of an illness, Spektor was forced to postpone two headlining gigs prior to this scheduled appearance on Mountain Stage. Though still suffering the effects, she was in top form — and managed a bit of humor when an audience member sneezed during the introduction to one of her tracks.

Featured Artist



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor