Carrie Rodriguez On Mountain Stage


  • "Infinite Night"
  • "Absence" *
  • "She Ain't Me"
  • "El Salvador"
  • "Never Gonna Be Your Bride"
  • * Featuring Aoife O'Donovan
Carrie Rodriguez 300

Released this summer, She Ain't Me is Carrie Rodriguez's second solo album. Brian Blauser hide caption

itoggle caption Brian Blauser

Carrie Rodriguez is a classically trained violinist-turned-fiddler with an eccentric, genre-bending style. She previously released three beautiful records as a duo with songwriting mentor Chip Taylor ("Wild Thing," "Angel of the Morning"), who discovered her at a South by Southwest showcase in Austin, Tex. The two racked up many miles on the road together before Rodriguez went off to pursue her solo career. Her most recent solo album, She Ain't Me, features music co-written with the likes of Taylor, Gary Louris of The Jayhawks and Dan Wilson of Semisonic.

Playing fiddle, electric mandolin and tenor guitar, Rodriguez is accompanied here in live performance with many players from the She Ain't Me sessions, including Javier Vercher on tenor saxophone, keys and percussion; Hans Holzen on electric and acoustic guitar; Eric Platz on drums; and Kyle Kegerreis on bass. Crooked Still's Aoife O'Donovan joins the group for "Absence," a tune co-written by Rodriguez and Mary Gauthier.

This segment originally ran Oct. 8, 2008.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.