Neil Halstead's 'Mighty' Soft Songs

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "Oh! Mighty Engine"
  • "No Mercy For The Muse"
  • "Paint A Face"
  • "Broken Glass"
Neil Halstead (300)

Neil Halstead. courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption courtesy of the artist

Neil Halstead, of shoegazer band Slowdive and its long-running offshoot Mojave 3, started writing solo albums as a result of a breakup that left him sleeping in a recording studio. The songs he wrote during those two months showed up on Halstead's first solo album, 2000's Sleeping on Roads.

Halstead's latest solo disc, Oh! Mighty Engine, follows the same musical path, with sincere and emotional songs that build a relaxed atmosphere. He performs songs from the new record in a session with World Cafe host David Dye.

Purchase Featured Music

Oh! Mighty Engine

Purchase Music

Purchase Featured Music

Oh! Mighty Engine
Neil Halstead

Your purchase helps support NPR Programming. How?




Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor