Rosanne Cash On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">


  • "Dreams Are Not My Home"
  • "The World Unseen"
  • "Sea of Heartbreak"
  • "Two Girls"
  • "No Memories Hanging Around" *
  • * Featuring Rodney Crowell

Recorded at New York City's historic Town Hall, and just down the road from her home, singer and songwriter Rosanne Cash performs an acoustic set for her third appearance on Mountain Stage.

Rosanne Cash 300

Rosanne Cash performs at New York City's historic Town Hall. Brian Blauser hide caption

toggle caption Brian Blauser

She begins the set with two songs from her critically acclaimed Black Cadillac, accompanied by her husband John Leventhal on guitar and Jeff Allen on bass. She also enlisted a special guest for one song, asking her ex-husband and fellow songwriter Rodney Crowell (also a guest this week on Mountain Stage) to join her on Crowell's song "No Memories Hanging Around." The song was originally included on her 1979 debut CD, Right or Wrong, as a duet with Bobby Bare.

Cash is currently working on a record that will feature a selection chosen from a list of 100 essential songs her father, Johnny Cash, gave to her some time ago. Included here, from that list, is Hal David and Paul Hampton's "Sea of Heartbreak," followed by a song Cash says might be added, Townes Van Zandt's "Two Girls."

Stay tuned this week for sets by Crowell and Billy Bragg, who invited Rosanne Cash to sing a duet with him earlier in the evening.

This segment originally ran Nov. 24, 2008.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from