Cold War Kids' Members Show Their 'Loyalty'

  • Playlist
  • Download
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "I've Seen Enough"
  • "Mexican Dogs"
  • "Something Is Not Right With Me"
  • "Every Man I Fall For"
Cold War Kids (300) i

Cold War Kids. Courtesy of the artists hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of the artists
Cold War Kids (300)

Cold War Kids.

Courtesy of the artists

The latest album from Cold War Kids, Loyalty to Loyalty, shares its title with an anti-Nietzshe paper by Josiah Royce. With that in mind, it's hard not to read into frontman Nate Willett's lyrics with a bit of curiosity, but this is a far more personal album than its title might suggest.

On the musical side of things, Willett spills a soulful yell over bluesy post-punk songs. It's a strong sophomore record, stretching Cold War Kids' compositional muscle more than ever. In a session with host David Dye, the band plays an unconventional version of "Something Is Not Right With Me," while bassist Matt Maust joins Willett to discuss how the group copes with blog backlash.

Purchase Featured Music

Loyalty to Loyalty

Purchase Music

Purchase Featured Music

Loyalty to Loyalty
Cold War Kids

Your purchase helps support NPR Programming. How?




Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from