Matthew Sweet On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">


  • "Time Machine"
  • "Ugly Truth"
  • "Byrdgirl"
  • "Flying"
  • "Girlfriend"
  • "Sick of Myself"
Matthew Sweet 300

Matthew Sweet performs on Mountain Stage. Brian Blauser hide caption

toggle caption Brian Blauser

Hailing from the fertile musical city of Athens, Ga., power-pop rocker Matthew Sweet released his 10th album, Sunshine Lies, this past August. He's been plenty busy in the past few years, recording an album with Pete Droge and Shawn Mullins as The Thorns in 2003, as well as his 2006 Under the Covers record with Susanna Hoffs of The Bangles. With his hard-hitting road band backing him up, Sweet is in all his guitar-drenched glory here in live performance from Charleston, W.Va.

Along with Paul Chastain on guitar and background vocals, Pete Philips on guitar, Tony Marisco on bass and background vocals and Ric Menck on drums, Sweet rolls out a few numbers from Sunshine Lies, as well as hits from his previous releases: "The Ugly Truth" from Altered Beast, "Girlfriend" (his most recognized song) from the highly acclaimed 1991 release of the same name, and "Sick of Myself" from 100% Fun.

Sweet also produced the debut album by family band The Bridges, a set from which will be available later this week on Mountain Stage.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor