Thea Gilmore On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">


  • "Old Soul"
  • "Come Up With Me"
  • "Icarus Wind"
  • "The Lower Road"
  • "This Girl Is Taking Bets"
  • "Overjoyed" *
  • * Performed by Bob Thompson

Liejacker is the follow-up to Thea Gilmore's critically acclaimed album Harpo's Ghost, which came out at a difficult time in the British singer-songwriter's life and career. Perhaps as a result, Liejacker features some of Gilmore's starkest and most emotional songs to date.

Thea Gilmore 300

Thea Gilmore performs music from her latest album, Liejacker. Brian Blauser hide caption

toggle caption Brian Blauser

Accompanying herself on guitar and joined by producer Nigel Stonier on guitar and piano, Gilmore pours her heart into live performances of five songs from Liejacker. She describes her songs as her children before introducing "The Lower Road," a tune that Joan Baez sang background vocals on and later decided to include on her own release, Day After Tomorrow. Gilmore jokes that this "child," in particular, "has gone to university" and will hopefully support her in her old age. Other guests who appear on Liejacker include singer-songwriter Erin McKeown and Dave McCabe, leader of The Zutons.

Following Gilmore's set is a performance of Stevie Wonder's "Overjoyed" by Mountain Stage pianist Bob Thompson.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from