Ani DiFranco On Mountain Stage

  • Playlist
  • Embed
    <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "God's Country"
  • "You Had Time"
  • "Red Letter Year"
  • "The Atom"
  • "Paradigm"
  • "Smiling Underneath"
Ani DiFranco

Ani DiFranco. Brian Blauser hide caption

toggle caption Brian Blauser

Few artists in the last 20 years have built a stronger grassroots following than Ani DiFranco. She started Righteous Babe Records in the early '90s, and has operated as a staunchly independent musician ever since. Aside from her business success, DiFranco's unconventional guitar tunings, diverse finger-picking style and socially conscious lyrics have inspired countless songwriters and guitarists.

When she made her fourth appearance on Mountain Stage, DiFranco had just released her first career-spanning retrospective, Canon. She touches on some past highlights with "God's Country," "You Had Time" and "Paradigm." The three remaining songs appear on her latest album of new material, 2008's Red Letter Year. Inspired by her new home of New Orleans, her co-writing partner and her new motherhood, Red Letter Year showcases a happier-sounding DiFranco.

She's joined here by Todd Sickafoose on bass and piano and Alison Miller on drums and background vocals.



Please keep your community civil. All comments must follow the Community rules and Terms of Use. NPR reserves the right to use the comments we receive, in whole or in part, and to use the commenter's name and location, in any medium. See also the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Community FAQ.

NPR thanks our sponsors

Become an NPR sponsor

Support comes from