Miike Snow: The Illusion Of Simplicity : World Cafe The production duo behind Britney Spears' "Toxic" has added a member to become the band Miike Snow. The Swedish group's cool electro-pop is instantly accessible. Hear the group in a session on World Cafe.

Miike Snow: The Illusion Of Simplicity

Miike Snow: The Illusion Of Simplicity

  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/114277328/114277327" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Though Christian Karlsson, Pontus Winnberg and Andrew Wyatt met back in 2000 while working on an album together, the Swedish electro-pop trio didn't form their band Miike Snow until 2007. Karlsson and Winnberg are known as the powerhouse production duo Bloodshy & Avant, which wrote and produced hit songs for Kylie Minogue, Madonna and Britney Spears. (They won a Grammy for producing Spears' pop classic "Toxic.") After all that success, the duo wanted to stop producing for others and write music together.

Set List

  • "Black & Blue"
  • "Silvia"
  • "Animal"

Miike Snow. courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption
courtesy of the artist

Miike Snow's cool sound is instantly accessible and only creates the illusion of simplicity. And while it might not make a ton of sense to praise the trio for originality, its pop synths, slick guitar riffs and tender lyrics make the group a perfect fit for a party. Accomplishing exactly what its members set out to do and more, Miike Snow has created a series of intelligent, richly layered earworms.