Regina Spektor On Mountain Stage A New York-based singer-songwriter, Spektor blends rhythmic piano with a distinct, acrobatic voice. She returns to Mountain Stage to perform songs from her latest album, Far.

Regina Spektor On Mountain Stage

Regina Spektor On Mountain Stage

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Regina Spektor. Brian Blauser hide caption

toggle caption
Brian Blauser

Regina Spektor.

Brian Blauser

Set List

  • "The Calculation"
  • "Eet"
  • "Folding Chair"
  • "Machine"
  • "Laughing With"
  • "Dance Anthem of the '80s"
  • "I Don't Want to Live Without You"
  • "Blue Lips"

New York-based singer, pianist and songwriter Regina Spektor returns to Mountain Stage for the second time to perform songs from her recent album, Far. The album was recorded with three high-profile producers -- Mike Elizondo, Jeff Lynne and Garrett "Jackknife" Lee -- in addition to David Kahne, who worked on Spektor's critically acclaimed 2006 album Begin to Hope. As Mountain Stage host Larry Groce notes, Far sounds concise thanks to Spektor's distinct style and approach to singing, writing and playing.

With assists from Daniel Hae-Wan Cho on cello, Kaoru Ishi Bashi on violin and John McKenzie Smith on drums, Spektor's rhythmic, nimble piano style and acrobatic, unconventional vocals are unifying factors in her thought-provoking songs. The latest single from Far, the powerful "Laughing With," is included in this performance.

This feature originally was published on November 9, 2009.