Hot Club Of Cowtown On Mountain Stage The Austin-based Western swing revivalists bring their Bob Wills-inspired sound to West Virginia's most famous stage for the fourth time. The band shows off an expanded repertoire, from original material to Tom Waits covers.

Hot Club Of Cowtown On Mountain Stage

Hot Club Of Cowtown On Mountain Stage

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Set List

  • "Stay A Little Longer"
  • "You Took Advantage of Me"
  • "Dark Eyes"
  • "The Devil Ain't Lazy"
  • "The Long Way Home"
  • "Sleep"
  • "I Can't Give you Anything But Love, Baby"
  • "Orange Blossom Special"
  • "Private Universe" (performed by Julie Adams & the Mountain Stage Band)

Hot Club of Cowtown formed in 1996 after singer/guitarist Whit Smith responded to an advertisement placed by singer and fiddler Elana James. The pair moved to Austin in 1998, and began playing with a series of bass players before solidifying the lineup with bassist Jake Erwin in 2000.

The Western swing band kicks off its fourth Mountain Stage appearance with the classic "Stay All Night" from its new album, What Makes Bob Holler. Inspired by the sound and style of Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys, Hot Club of Cowtown's live repertoire has expanded to include a substantial amount of original material (Whit Smith's "Sleep") and cover songs from artists like Tom Waits, whose tune "The Long Way Home" is included here.

This segment originally aired on March 29, 2011.