Matthew Sweet In Concert Equal parts abstract and introspective, Modern Art finds the prolific power-pop singer at his most experimental yet.

Matthew Sweet In Concert

Matthew Sweet In Concert

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Matthew Sweet.

Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption
Courtesy of the artist

Matthew Sweet.

Courtesy of the artist

Set List

  • "She Walks The Night"
  • "I Wanted To Tell You"
  • "Winona"
  • "Time Capsule"
  • "Baltimore"
  • "Day For Night"
  • "Nothing Lasts"
  • "Sick Of Myself"

Matthew Sweet has been crafting catchy power-pop since the early '80s. He was the toast of the alternative rock scene in Athens, Ga., for much of that decade, collaborating with R.E.M.'s Michael Stipe in a band called Community Trolls, as well as the groups Oh-OK and the Buzz of Delight. But it wasn't until the release of his third album, Girlfriend, in 1991 that his power-pop sound broke through and paved the way to a more successful career. Sweet has been releasing well-received albums ever since, both solo and with The Bangles' Susannah Hoffs.

Sweet's new solo record, Modern Art, is an abstract yet introspective collection of songs. He performed songs from this record, as well as old favorites from Girlfriend, in a performance from World Cafe Live in Philadelphia.

Web Resources