Kendrick Scott And Oracle: Live At Berklee He's got a kitchen sink for a palette and a natural flow around even the most jagged rhythms. He writes music, too: The fluid drummer Kendrick Scott takes his band to his alma mater for a live preview of his upcoming album.

Kendrick Scott And Oracle: Live At Berklee

Kendrick Scott And Oracle In Concert

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Watching drummer Kendrick Scott is a study in fluid dynamics — a kitchen sink of a palette, a natural flow around even the most jagged rhythms. It's what endeared him to composer and trumpeter Terence Blanchard, whose quintet he's served in for the better part of the last decade, and what's made him a first-call player in New York City. Between touring the world and teaching and playing with everyone and their mother, he writes music, too. His band, the Kendrick Scott Oracle, has now bottled its second album, set for upcoming release on his own record label.

A version of the Oracle traveled to Scott's alma mater, Berklee College of Music, for this installment of The Checkout: Live concert series. In a live radio broadcast on WBGO and live online video webcast at NPR Music, the band performed live at Berklee's Cafe 939 on Thursday, March 8. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit

Set List

All compositions by Kendrick Scott unless otherwise indicated.

  • "Mantra"
  • "Apollo" (Walter Smith III)
  • "Too Much" (Sufjan Stevens)
  • "Serenity"
  • "Cycling Through Reality" [video highlight]
  • "Conviction"


  • Kendrick Scott, drums
  • John Ellis, saxophone
  • Taylor Eigsti, piano
  • Joshua Crumbly, bass


Producer and Host: Josh Jackson; Audio Engineer: David Tallacksen. Recorded March 8, 2012 at Berklee College of Music in Boston, Mass. Photo by Armeen Musa/Berklee College of Music.