Clarence Penn Quartet: Live In Concert When you're a world-class drummer, your calendar is packed. In fact, it's been 10 years since Penn has released an album. But then he had a vision of Salvador Dalí strolling through his neighborhood.

Clarence Penn Quartet: Live From 92Y Tribeca

Clarence Penn Quartet In Concert (Full Audio)

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Clarence Penn is one of those jazz-trained drummers who prove too versatile, too accomplished, too good to have too much free time. He joined Ellis Marsalis' band when he was still in college; he's another graduate of Betty Carter finishing school. Since then, he's stayed busy touring with anyone and everyone — perhaps too busy to have put out a record of his own since 2002. That hopefully changes this year with the release of Dalí In Cobble Hill, an album of original music for quartet; we'll get a preview at the 92Y Tribeca.

From the 92Y Tribeca in downtown New York City, Clarence Penn presented his own compositions in a double bill with Antonio Sanchez and Migration as part of The Checkout: Live concert series. Both shows were broadcast on air by WBGO and in an online video webcast at NPR Music. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit

Set List

All compositions by Clarence Penn unless otherwise indicated.

  • "The B61"
  • "I Hear Music" (Burton Lane)
  • "Dali"
  • "Persistence of Memory" [video highlight]
  • "A Walk on the BHP"
  • "Zoom Zoom"


  • Clarence Penn, drums
  • Seamus Blake, saxophone
  • Adam Rogers, guitar
  • Ben Street, bass


Producer and Host: Josh Jackson; Audio Engineer: David Tallacksen; Production Assistant: Michael Downes; Video Director: Stew Nachmias. Recorded June 16, 2012 at 92Y Tribeca in New York, N.Y. Photo by John Rogers/