Orrin Evans Trio: Live In Concert A strong and harmonically provocative pianist, Evans often makes the commute between Philadelphia and New York City. He brings a trio to downtown Manhattan for this live performance.

Orrin Evans: Live From 92Y Tribeca

Orrin Evans Trio Live In Concert (Full Audio)

The pianist Orrin Evans splits much of his time between Philadelphia, where he grew up, and New York, a much larger jazz scene where he gigs often. A hard-charging player, seasoned with the harmonic touch of fellow Philadelphian McCoy Tyner, Evans is in high demand in a lot of places. Last year saw him release his 19th album as a bandleader or co-leader, Flip the Script. It's a trio recording, a format which both intimidates and excites him; here, he takes up the three-man challenge anew.

Orrin Evans' trio followed Tim Green's quintet on stage at the 92Y Tribeca in downtown New York City, as part of the WBGO concert series The Checkout: Live.

Set List

  • "Clean House" (Orrin Evans)
  • "Blues Connotation" (Ornette Coleman)
  • "Question" (Eric Revis)
  • "Big Small" (Orrin Evans) [video highlight]
  • "TC's Blues" (Orrin Evans)
  • "Blessed One The Eternal Truth" (Trudy Pitts)


  • Orrin Evans, piano
  • Ben Wolfe, bass
  • Donald Edwards, drums


Producer and Host: Josh Jackson; Audio Engineer: David Tallacksen; Production Assistant: Michael Downes; Video Director: Stew Nachmias. Recorded Feb. 20, 2012 at 92Y Tribeca in New York, N.Y. Photo by John Rogers for NPR.