Wilco On Mountain Stage Wilco's latest Mountain Stage set features deep cuts and new tracks, plus a David Bowie cover.

Wilco On Mountain Stage

Wilco On Mountain Stage

  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/472954703/472955718" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Wilco. Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage hide caption

toggle caption
Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage


Brian Blauser/Mountain Stage

Wilco makes its third appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded live at the Culture Center Theater in Charleston, W.Va. Since its formation as an alt-country-influenced descendant of Uncle Tupelo in the mid-'90s, the Chicago band has evolved into the de facto standard-bearer for experimental rock.

Wilco's members have touched many genres along the way, from their now-classic collaboration with Billy Bragg on a collection of unfinished Woody Guthrie songs to their radical left turn with Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Star Wars is the Grammy-winning band's ninth studio album and first since 2011's The Whole Love, and was available for free download for 30 days this past summer.

The band's acoustic Mountain Stage performance touches on sounds from throughout Wilco's two-decade-plus career, including the Guthrie-penned "California Stars" and the deep cut "It's Just That Simple," which features bassist John Stirratt on lead vocals. Wilco closes with a somber cover of David Bowie's masterpiece "Space Oddity." Jeff Tweedy sings lead vocals, along with Glenn Kotche on drums, keyboard player Mikael Jorgensen, multi-instrumentalist Pat Sansone and lead guitarist Nels Cline.


  • "Misunderstood"
  • "Joke Explained"
  • "It's Just That Simple"
  • "War On War"
  • "I'm Always In Love"
  • "Jesus, Etc."
  • "California Stars"
  • "Shot In The Arm"
  • "Space Oddity"