Public Service Broadcasting Premieres 'Progress,' Announces Third Album 'Every Valley' Public Service Broadcasting upcoming new album tells the tale of an dying industrial town in South Wales and how it's a metaphor for our political unease.
Directed by Lucy Dawkins and Tom Readdy YouTube

All Songs TV

How Public Service Broadcasting Tells The Future Using The Past

Public Service Broadcasting playfully teaches history via mixed media, combining archival stock footage, propaganda films and their own propulsive music. Every Valley, the band's forthcoming third album, tells the tale of coal mining in South Wales and how its industrial collapse serves here as a melancholic metaphor for global unease. Based on research and interviews of townspeople from the region, Every Valley will tell its tale through electronics, drums, guitars and much-needed humor.

In an email, founding member J. Willgoose Esq. tells me that the song "Progress," which we're premiering today along with its video, is "a playful look at a serious and pertinent topic — mechanization and its true place in the 'progress' of humanity. What's certain in my mind is that this album isn't just about mining and isn't just about Wales. It's a story reflected in abandoned and neglected communities across the western world, and one which has led to the resurgence of a particularly malignant, cynical and calculating brand of politics."

"Progress" is a knowing nod to Kraftwerk, especially in its bass line and the Vocoder within its chorus. Willgoose writes that, since "the song itself nods quite heavily to Kraftwerk, we also thought it'd be nice to make the video a similarly respectful doff of the cap in their direction."

Usually, Public Service Broadcasting relies on narrators sourced from historical footage to act as the "lead singer," but on Every Valley they've expanded upon that template, with a number of special guests, including two of Willgoose's musical heroes — James Dean Bradfield from Manic Street Preachers and, on "Progress," Tracyanne Campbell from the Scottish band Camera Obscura.

Every Valley will be released July 7. Full track list below:

"Every Valley"
"The Pit"
"People Will Always Need Coal"
"Progress" (ft. Tracyanne Campbell)
"Go To The Road"
"All Out"
"Turn No More" (ft. James Dean Bradfield)
"They Gave Me A Lamp" (ft. Haiku Salut)
"You + Me" (ft. Lisa Jên Brown)
"Mother Of The Village"
"Take Me Home"

[+] read more[-] less

More From All Songs TV

Andrew Bird Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption Courtesy of the artist

First Watch: Andrew Bird Is Bloodless

Andrew Bird sings, "it's an uncivil war bloodless for now / and the poets they explode like bombs." Watch Andrew Bird peer into our distracted culture precisely when it needs our attention.

JS Ondara's debut album Tales of America is out Feb. 1 on Verve Forecast. Josh Cheuse/Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption Josh Cheuse/Courtesy of the artist

The 'American Dream' Through The Kenyan Eyes Of J.S. Ondara

J.S. Ondara's "American Dream" video follows a delusional man on his journey to purchase a weapon.

Steve Hassett and Zoe Randell of Luluc Charlotte de Mezamat/Courtesy of the artistr hide caption

toggle caption Charlotte de Mezamat/Courtesy of the artistr

Luluc's 'Kids' Is An Ode To Restless Youth

The Australian duo's video and song, "Kids," is an anthem for teens trying to find their place in the world.

Rising Appalachia Chad Hess/Courtesy of the Artist hide caption

toggle caption Chad Hess/Courtesy of the Artist

Rising Appalachia Write A 'Resilient' Anthem

The sister duo's song and dance-filled video is an uplifting and life-affirming ballad for challenging times.

Back To Top