Golfer Adds Big Penalties For Standing Caddie Lee Ann Walker had to add penalty strokes for having her caddie stand behind her as she putted in a tournament in French Lick, Ind. She wasn't aware of the rule change.

Golfer Adds Big Penalties For Standing Caddie

Golfer Adds Big Penalties For Standing Caddie

  • Download
  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/770848629/770848630" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">
  • Transcript

Lee Ann Walker had to add penalty strokes for having her caddie stand behind her as she putted in a tournament in French Lick, Ind. She wasn't aware of the rule change.

STEVE INSKEEP, HOST:

Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. Lee Ann Walker played a pro golf tournament and scored badly but honorably. In golf, a lower score is better; around 70 is good. Walker was higher but not too bad until she found a rules violation. Her caddy may not stand behind her as she putts. And Walker had repeatedly done this. Golfers must call penalties on themselves. And she did, adding 58 penalty shots, changing her first-round score to 127.

Copyright © 2019 NPR. All rights reserved. Visit our website terms of use and permissions pages at www.npr.org for further information.

NPR transcripts are created on a rush deadline by Verb8tm, Inc., an NPR contractor, and produced using a proprietary transcription process developed with NPR. This text may not be in its final form and may be updated or revised in the future. Accuracy and availability may vary. The authoritative record of NPR’s programming is the audio record.