Listen To Sufjan Stevens' Epic New Song, 'America' Stevens' eighth solo studio album will be released September 25, with its first single coming on Friday.

Sufjan Stevens Announces New Solo Album 'The Ascension'

Sufjan Stevens Courtesy of the artist hide caption

toggle caption
Courtesy of the artist

Sufjan Stevens

Courtesy of the artist

Updated at 9:45 a.m. on Friday, July 3.

Sufjan Stevens has announced a new album, The Ascension, out September 25.

The Ascension will be the Stevens' eighth solo studio album, and his first since 2015's deliciously heartbreaking Carrie & Lowell. (In the meantime, he's kept busy, including releasing several collaborations — Planetarium with Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly and James McAlister; The Decalogue with Timo Andres; and Aporia with his stepfather, Lowell Brams — contributing to the Call Me By Your Name soundtrack, sharing a delightful ode to Tonya Harding and more.)

The album's first single (and closing track) "America," is 12 and a half minutes long and revolves around the refrain, "Don't do to me what you did to America." It was released on Friday, July 3 (and will likely make you weep during your socially distant barbecue). You can listen to it below.

The album art for Sufjan Stevens' The Ascension.
Courtesy of the artist

The Ascension tracklist:

1. "Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse"
2. "Run Away With Me"
3. "Video Game"
4. "Lamentations"
5. "Tell Me You Love Me"
6. "Die Happy"
7. "Ativan"
8. "Ursa Major"
9. "Landslide"
10." Gilgamesh"
11. "Death Star"
12. "Goodbye To All That"
13. "Sugar"
14. "The Ascension"
15. "America"