Election calendar: 2022 statewide primaries Ahead of November's general election, the major parties are picking their nominees. Here's the full calendar.

The 2022 midterms are underway. Here's the calendar of primary elections

Matt Rourke/AP
In this May 21, 2019, file photo, "I Voted Today" stickers are displayed at a polling place in Philadelphia.
Matt Rourke/AP

The first midterm election of a president's tenure historically favors the party out of power. In 2022, that's the Republican Party. Democrats, meanwhile, will this year defend their narrow congressional control, along with key governorships.

Ahead of November's general election, the major parties are picking their nominees.

Texas kicked off the midterms in March, and things really got into gear in May, when voters in 12 other states, including Pennsylvania and Georgia, cast primary ballots. Key states including Nevada followed in June.

Here's the primary calendar as of now, per the National Conference of State Legislatures and NPR reporting. Click on any state where contests have already happened to see key race results:

March

Tuesday, March 1


May

Tuesday, May 3

Tuesday, May 10

Tuesday, May 17

Tuesday, May 24


June

Tuesday, June 7

Tuesday, June 14

Tuesday, June 21

Tuesday, June 28


July

Tuesday, July 19

  • Maryland

Tuesday, July 26

  • North Carolina (runoffs if needed)

August

Tuesday, August 2

  • Arizona
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Washington

Thursday, August 4

  • Tennessee

Tuesday, August 9

  • Connecticut
  • Minnesota
  • Wisconsin
  • Vermont

Saturday, August 13

  • Hawaii

Tuesday, August 16

  • Alaska
  • Wyoming
  • South Dakota (runoffs if needed)

Tuesday, August 23

  • Florida
  • New York (U.S. House)
  • Oklahoma (runoffs if needed)

September

Tuesday, September 6

  • Massachusetts

Tuesday, September 13

  • Delaware
  • New Hampshire
  • Rhode Island

November

Tuesday, November 8


December

Saturday, December 10

  • Louisiana (runoffs if needed)