NPR Board Welcomes Newly Elected Directors The NPR membership elected Tim Eby; Jennifer Ferro; Goli Sheikholeslami, and Joyce Slocum as Member Directors and Neal Zuckerman as a Public Director

NPR Board Welcomes Newly Elected Directors

NPR Headquarters in Washington, DC. Stephen Voss /NPR hide caption

toggle caption
Stephen Voss /NPR

NPR Headquarters in Washington, DC.

Stephen Voss /NPR

September 12, 2018; Washington, D.C. –The NPR membership elected Tim Eby (KWMU, St. Louis, MO); Jennifer Ferro (KCRW, Santa Monica, CA); Goli Sheikholeslami (WBEZ, Chicago, IL) and Joyce Slocum (Texas Public Radio, San Antonio, TX) as Member Directors of the NPR Board, all for three-year terms beginning in November 2018. Slocum was re-elected to a second term, and Sheikholeslami, who is currently serving a partial term, was re-elected to an initial three-year term

In addition, the membership confirmed the NPR Board's election of Jackie Reses and Carlos Watson to their first full three-year terms as Public Directors, beginning in November 2018.

On a separate ballot, PRSS representatives ratified the NPR Board's election of Victoria St. John to a second three-year term as a Non-Board Distribution/Interconnection Committee member, beginning in November 2018.

On September 5, 2018, the NPR Board also elected Neal Zuckerman to a three-year term as a Public Director beginning in November 2018. This election is subject to confirmation by the membership through an electronic ballot that will be distributed in October.

NPR's 23-member Board of Directors is comprised of 12 Member Directors who are managers of NPR Member stations and are elected to the Board by their fellow Member stations, 9 Public Directors who are prominent members of the public selected by the Board and confirmed by NPR Member stations, the NPR Foundation Chair, and the NPR President & CEO.

Tim Eby previously served on the NPR Board from 2002 – 2008 and was its Chair from 2004 – 2007. He has been active in both public broadcasting and community organizations, currently serving on the Board of Directors of the Station Resource Group, Public Radio in Mid America (PRIMA), and Grand Center, Inc. He has been the General Manager of St. Louis Public Radio since January, 2009. During his tenure, Eby has led St. Louis Public Radio through a period of enormous growth. The station has moved into a state-of-the-art facility, completed a transformative merger with the non-profit, online news outlet the St. Louis Beacon, and significantly increased its broadcast and digital audience and fundraising revenue.

Jennifer Ferro is President of KCRW. She joined KCRW in 1995 and has held varied roles during her tenure including producing, fundraising and serving as COO. Ferro is a UCLA Luskin Public Policy Fellow, serves on the board of Zocalo Public Square, an ideas exchange that creates live events and original humanities journalism and also serves on the advisory board of the American Contemporary Ballet. She was chosen as one of Los Angeles' Game Changing Women Leaders Who Make an Impact in LA by Los Angeles Magazine. Ms. Ferro earned her Bachelor's degree from UCLA.

Neal Zuckerman is a partner and managing director in the New York office of the Boston Consulting Group (BCG), a global management consulting firm and advisor on business strategy with 81 offices in 48 countries. He works predominantly with media and entertainment companies, as they transform themselves into sustainable, digital businesses, and serves as co-head of the firm's media practice. Prior to BCG, Zuckerman served in related roles at Time Warner and McKinsey & Company. Zuckerman's board service includes: a member of the Board of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (the largest transportation agency in the country), the International Emmys, the Lincoln Center Corporate Fund, the Philipstown Planning Board, and the Desmond-Fish Library. He is also the former chair of New York Public Radio's Community Advisory Board and, in the late 1990s, was a volunteer DJ at KRCC, Colorado Springs.

About NPR
NPR's rigorous reporting and unsurpassed storytelling connect with millions of Americans everyday—on the air, online, and in person. NPR strives to create a more informed public—one challenged and invigorated by a deeper understanding and appreciation of events, ideas, and cultures. With a nationwide network of award-winning journalists and 17 international bureaus, NPR and its Member Stations are never far from where a story is unfolding. Listeners consider public radio an enriching and enlightening companion; they trust NPR as a daily source of unbiased independent news, and inspiring insights on life and the arts. Learn more at or by following NPR Extra on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About the NPR Board of Directors

The NPR Board of Directors is responsible for the governance of our 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation. The Board sets the policies and overall direction for NPR management, monitors the performance of NPR, and provides financial oversight.


NPR Media Relations /