June 20, 2007

Leah Yoon, NPR


June 20, 2007; Washington, D.C. - The National Press Club has selected NPR News Media Correspondent David Folkenflik for two 2007 awards: one for a report that attracted national interest and the other for a body of work that aired in 2006.

Folkenflik's report "Critics Question Reporter's Airing of Personal Views" examined the fine line between a high-profile reporter's personal views and the impact it might have on her work. The award panel judges said, "Folkenflik considered the case of the New York Times' Linda Greenhouse, asking whether she stepped over the line by repeatedly airing her personal political biases - even marching in an abortion rights ally - and what this means for her employer...While it drew no conclusions, this well-considered piece asked what we consider to be a journalistically responsible and important question in an impartial way." It is being recognized with an Arthur Rowse Award for Press Criticism for an individual work encouraging responsible media behavior.

Five of Folkenflik's pieces for NPR programs, ranging from how a small town paper in Alabama commits its profits to train reporters to the allegations of abuse of power made by a top-ranking government official in charge of the Broadcasting Board of Governors, which oversees all U.S. government and government sponsored, non-military, international broadcasting, are being recognized for an Arthur Rowse Award for Press Criticism for a body of work in the broadcast category.

Given annually, the Rowse Awards are sponsored by the former U.S. News & World Report reporter Arthur Rowse and honor excellence in examining the role and work of the news media in the categories of broadcast, print, and online media.

Folkenflik will receive the awards at a dinner at the National Press Club on July 16.

Folkenflik joined NPR in 2004 and is based in New York. His other honors include the Mongerson Award for Investigative Reporting on the News, presented by the Center for Media and Public Affairs and the University of Virginia's Center for Governmental Studies; National Headliners Club; the Society of Professional Journalists, and the Pew Center for Civic Journalism's James K. Batten Award.