South Dakota - Governor

as of October 31

The Candidates

Photo of Scott Heidepriem

Scott Heidepriem

  • Democrat
  • Birthdate: June 25, 1956
  • Residence: Sioux Falls, SD

Full Profile

Photo of Dennis Daugaard

Dennis Daugaard

  • Republican
  • Birthdate: January 11, 1953
  • Residence: Garretson, SD

Full Profile

Previous Results

    South Dakota Governor (2006)

    Candidate Party Votes %
    Mike Rounds REP 206,990 61.7%
    Jack Billion DEM 121,226 36.1%
    Steve Willis CON 4,010 1.2%
    Tom Gerber LIB 3,282 1%

    U.S. President: South Dakota (2008)

    Candidate Party Votes %
    John McCain REP 203,054 53.2%
    Barack Obama DEM 170,924 44.7%
    Ralph Nader IND 4,267 1.1%
    Chuck Baldwin CON 1,895 0.5%
    Bob Barr IND 1,835 0.5%

    state Election Profile

Source: Associated Press

Recent Analysis

Oct 31, 2010

New Cook Political Report Rating

Safe-R (was Lean-R)

    Sep 2, 2010

    Democrats Unlikely To Break Losing Streak In South Dakota

    Mike Rounds (R), first elected in 2002, is term limited. Had he been able to run again, Rounds would have cruised to a third term. Democrats think that the GOP candidate to succeed him, Lt. Gov. Dennis Daugaard, is flawed and ripe for an upset. But no Democrat has been elected here since 1974 -- a string of defeats that is likely to include that of state Senate Minority Leader Scott Heidepriem (D). -Ken Rudin

    New NPR Rating



      About The Scorecard

      Photo of Ken RudinExplore how NPR's Ken Rudin and other influential political watchers are calling key House, Senate and governor races.

      More About This Project
      Report A Problem

      election 2010 stories