Spring For Music: Toledo Symphony The Ohio orchestra makes its Carnegie Hall debut with 1,400 of its fans in tow. The music includes a rarely heard symphony by Dmitri Shostakovich and a theatre piece by Andre Previn and Tom Stoppard.

The Toledo Symphony Orchestra makes its long-awaited Carnegie Hall debut Saturday night. The orchestra will be joined by 1,400 of its hometown fans. Toledo Symphony Orchestra hide caption

toggle caption
Toledo Symphony Orchestra

Classics in Concert

Spring For Music: Toledo SymphonyWQXR-APM

Spring For Music: Toledo Symphony

  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/136056491/136099667" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Toledo, Ohio, is not the first place you might think to look for rabid fandom. Despite boasting a Triple A minor-league baseball team (the Mud Hens) and a hockey farm team (the Walleyes), it's not known as a sports mecca. But the city has something else: the 67-year-old Toledo Symphony. When that ensemble rides into New York for its debut at Carnegie Hall on Saturday, an estimated 1,400 fans will tag along.

The Toledo Symphony is one of seven ensembles chosen from an initial field of 65 who will appear at Spring for Music, the festival of North American orchestras. The trip has taken more than two years of preparation, as well as dogged fundraising to cover $250,000 in trip expenses. In January, when the Toledo City Council rejected a proposal to give the orchestra $10,000 toward the costs, the organization began reaching out to an array of local organizations to buy tickets.

Local universities with New York-area alumni have bought some 250 tickets; the orchestra also cut a deal with AAA to secure three charter buses to drive Toledo residents to New York. Some will ride with the orchestra on its chartered plane and intend to gather with fellow fans at an event at the Russian Tea Room afterward (each Spring for Music orchestra can pre-purchase up to 1,000 tickets for $25 each, but a special allotment was granted to Toledo).

Besides demonstrating the power of a dedicated fan base, the Toledo trip is remarkable because of its program. The night begins with Shostakovich's Symphony No. 6, one of the composer's lesser-known works — and a brooding, moody one at that. After intermission comes the New York premiere of Every Good Boy Deserves Favor. Playwright Tom Stoppard and composer André Previn initially conceived the piece in 1977 as an orchestral work with narration. As Stoppard began writing the musical-theatrical work about surviving in a totalitarian state, the orchestra evolved into one of the lead characters. As Previn told WQXR, Stoppard makes you question "what is the reality and what is the imagination."


Stefan Sanderling, music director


Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 6

André Previn/Tom Stoppard: Every Good Boy Deserves Favor

  • Director: Cornel Gabara
  • Cast: Pete Cross – Alexander
  • David de Christopher – Ivanov
  • Yazan "Zack" Alquadi – Sasha
  • Kevin Hayes – Colonel
  • Benjamin Pryor – Doctor
  • Pamela Tomasetti – Teacher


(Spring for Music is a collaboration between American Public Media, WQXR and NPR Music.)

[+] read more[-] less

More From Classical

Gurtman and Murtha Artist Management

Ruth Laredo On Piano Jazz

Hear "America's First Lady of the Piano" explore the boundaries between classical music and jazz with host Marian McPartland in this 2004 episode.

Ruth Laredo On Piano Jazz

  • <iframe src="https://www.npr.org/player/embed/562620476/562624249" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Dancers in "Stalactites," a video by Mark DeChiazza, based on Orpheus Unsung, a theater work composed by Steven Mackey, with Jason Treuting. Mark DeChiazza hide caption

toggle caption Mark DeChiazza

Orpheus Reborn With Dancers, Drums And Electric Guitar

A new video, featuring a score by Steven Mackey with Jason Treuting, retells the ancient tale of love, loss and the power of music.

Penguin Cafe performs a Tiny Desk Concert on May 2, 2017. (Claire Harbage/NPR) Claire Harbage/NPR hide caption

toggle caption Claire Harbage/NPR

Penguin Cafe

Penguin Cafe folds in sounds from around the world and throughout music history — Africa, Kraftwerk, Brazil and Franz Schubert.

Composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir revised her piece Aura especially for The Los Angeles Percussion Quartet. David Holechek hide caption

toggle caption David Holechek

Anna Thorvaldsdottir's Volcanic Transmissions

As members of the Los Angeles Percussion Quartet bow their vibraphones, brush their gongs and message their bass drums, the composer's evocative music oozes from blackness.

Ludovico Einaudi, performing live for KCRW. Larry Hirshowitz/KCRW hide caption

toggle caption Larry Hirshowitz/KCRW

Ludovico Einaudi, 'Petricor' (Live)


Watch the pianist and composer, joined by a full band, in a stunning live performance for KCRW.

Back To Top