Ecstatic Music: Dan Deacon, NOW Ensemble And Calder Quartet Hear a purveyor of overdriven sound team up with two of the hottest groups in new art music.

Live in Concert

Ecstatic Music: Dan Deacon, NOW Ensemble And Calder QuartetQ2


  • Mark Dancigers: Cloudburst
  • Daniel Wohl: Glitch
  • Dan Deacon: An Opal Toad with Obsidian Eyes

The Ecstatic Music Festival, held at New York's Merkin Concert Hall, is all about exciting — and inspiring — juxtapositions, and this show's conglomerations were no exception. After our SXSW showcase last week that included Dan Deacon, our own Stephen Thompson called the indie rocker/composer "a ringleader for a ludicrously overdriven orgy of sound." Given that description, who better for Deacon to team up with than NOW Ensemble and the Calder Quartet, two heavyweight groups from new music community known for their own vibrant yet serious musical ruckuses?

As part of the Ecstatic Music Festival at New York's Merkin Concert Hall, Deacon led the world premiere of his piece An Opal Toad with Obsidian Eyes, a piece that pulsates with an energy that recalls Terry Riley, Conlon Nancarrow and Steve Reich. Paired with Opal Toad were two other recent works: 2006's evocative Cloudbank, written by NOW Ensemble guitarist Mark Dancigers, as well as 2009's Glitch, with its layered textures of sonic lines for string quartet and electronics, written by Daniel Wohl for the Calder Quartet.

Credit: Audio archive courtesy of Q2 Music and The Jerome L. Greene Performance Space.

[+] read more[-] less

More From Classical

Gurtman and Murtha Artist Management

Ruth Laredo On Piano Jazz

Hear "America's First Lady of the Piano" explore the boundaries between classical music and jazz with host Marian McPartland in this 2004 episode.

Ruth Laredo On Piano Jazz

  • <iframe src="" width="100%" height="290" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" title="NPR embedded audio player">

Dancers in "Stalactites," a video by Mark DeChiazza, based on Orpheus Unsung, a theater work composed by Steven Mackey, with Jason Treuting. Mark DeChiazza hide caption

toggle caption Mark DeChiazza

Orpheus Reborn With Dancers, Drums And Electric Guitar

A new video, featuring a score by Steven Mackey with Jason Treuting, retells the ancient tale of love, loss and the power of music.

Penguin Cafe performs a Tiny Desk Concert on May 2, 2017. (Claire Harbage/NPR) Claire Harbage/NPR hide caption

toggle caption Claire Harbage/NPR

Penguin Cafe

Penguin Cafe folds in sounds from around the world and throughout music history — Africa, Kraftwerk, Brazil and Franz Schubert.

Composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir revised her piece Aura especially for The Los Angeles Percussion Quartet. David Holechek hide caption

toggle caption David Holechek

Anna Thorvaldsdottir's Volcanic Transmissions

As members of the Los Angeles Percussion Quartet bow their vibraphones, brush their gongs and message their bass drums, the composer's evocative music oozes from blackness.

Ludovico Einaudi, performing live for KCRW. Larry Hirshowitz/KCRW hide caption

toggle caption Larry Hirshowitz/KCRW

Ludovico Einaudi, 'Petricor' (Live)


Watch the pianist and composer, joined by a full band, in a stunning live performance for KCRW.

Back To Top